NewstrAid Wins ACO ‘Charity of the Year’ Award

NewstrAid has been named ‘Charity of the Year’ at the Association of Charitable Organisations (ACO) Annual Awards for 2023.

The Award was presented to Tom Rodger (NewstrAid Operations Director) and Katie Babooram (NewstrAid Welfare Manager) at the recent ACO conference in recognition of the work NewstrAid has undertaken over the last year and all of the beneficiaries the charity has supported through difficult times.

Neil Jagger NewstrAid CEO said: I am very proud to be CEO of an amazing charity and the outstanding team that won this award. The last year has been extremely challenging for everyone and has seen our team process a record number of applications for help from people facing hardship. This award acknowledges the hard work that goes into providing this support to the newspaper and magazine industry during some really tough times.”

The ACO Annual Awards 2023 – sponsored by Family Fund Business Services – celebrated the achievements of charities within the ACO network providing financial and well-being support to individuals. The awards were presented at the end of the ACO Conference in London on 27th September 2023.

For more information about NewstrAid and the help they can provide visit: Information about NewstrAid’s Cost of Living Crisis fund including the eligibility criteria can be found at .


For Media information contact: Lindsay Rule;

About NewstrAid

NewstrAid is a charity which aims to provide welfare for people who are, or have been, employed in the selling and distribution of newspapers and magazines in the UK and who find themselves in hardship. This includes their immediate family and dependants who are in need or in distress. The charity has been in existence for over 180 years and counts Charles Dickens amongst its presidents.

Association of Charitable Organisations

ACO is the united voice of the benevolence sector. They champion the contribution of charities that provide financial and wellbeing support to individuals.

Katie Babooram & Tom Rodger with the award.